Pennsylvania is one of 12 states in the U.S. that follows no-fault insurance rules for drivers. This means that regardless of who caused your car accident, each individual's insurance company pays up to the minimum amount of coverage for their damages. This process was done to reduce the amount of personal injury and property damage lawsuits that arise from car accident claims.
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage required in no-fault states only allows for medical damages and lost income up to the limits you have set. The other drivers' PIP coverage will determine how much you can recover for your injuries in the event you were injured in your crash.
Pennsylvania state laws require only $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability, with only $5,000 in both property damage liability and medical expense benefit. Consider also that there are numerous uninsured and underinsured drivers out there, and you have a decent chance that your car accident may be with someone whose insurance cannot cover the damages you sustained.
If your car accident in a no-fault state involved an underinsured or uninsured driver, chances are you will be in need of a larger settlement than what their insurance company has to offer.
Visit our library for more information about filing property damage claims after a car accident in Pennsylvania.
For a trusted legal team that will give your case the personal attention it deserves, contact a Philadelphia injury lawyer at White & Williams LLP today. We will provide a free, no obligation consultation on your case. 1-877-944-8396
Post a Comment to "The Real Meaning of a No-Fault State"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."