Under New Jersey tort law, those who suffer injury due to a negligent act of another must bring their legal claims within 2 years of the date of the incident. This same 2 year statutory period is applied in wrongful death claims as well, except that with wrongful death claims, the clock begins ticking on the date of the death.
There may be some exceptions to the 2 year statutory period. For instance, where there was fraudulent concealment or where the patient did not and could not reasonably uncover the negligent act, then the statute might be tolled. However, it is crucial to speak to a knowledgeable medical malpractice lawyer in New Jersey as soon as possible. Statute of limitations questions must be resolved quickly.
To read more about wrongful death claims in a New Jersey medical malpractice case, read our free legal articles:
Our New Jersey lawyers handle medical malpractice cases against hospitals, doctors, surgeons, laboratories, and more. Our lawyers have the expertise and resources of a large 200+ lawyer firm to help prosecute these cases. For a free consultation, call 877.944.8396.
**DISCLAIMER: This website does not provide any legal advice or create any attorney-client relationship. Each case is unique and requires review by a qualified attorney. Discussion of prior outcomes or results is no guarantee of the same or similar outcomes in current or future cases.